Breaking News:
Mar 30
CCLEC and Curacao signs MOU

News_Photo_bv.aspTHE Caribbean Customs Law Enforcement Council (CCLEC) has signed a Memorandum of Understanding (MOU) with Curacao.

The signing took place yesterday at the CCLEC 33rd Annual Conference held at the Lloyd Erskine Sandiford Centre yesterday. Master of Ceremonies for the event, Head of Human Resources of the Barbados Customs, David Stuart, explained that Curacao was required to sign the MOU yesterday because as of January 1 of this year, the political structure of the Netherlands Antilles has changed. Curacao, as an independent state of the Kingdom of the Netherlands Antilles, had to sign on to the MOU separately.

“The Netherlands Antilles signed the CCLEC Memorandum of Understanding in 1989 when it consisted of five islands, namely, Curacao, Bonaire, St. Maarten, Saba, and St. Eustatius. However, on the 1st of January 2011 the political structure of Netherlands Antilles ceased to exist as one. The Kingdom of the Netherlands Antilles now consists of four independent states, namely, the Netherlands, Curacao, Aruba and St. Maarten. Bonaire, Saba and St. Eustatius are now special municipalities of the Netherlands,” Stuart explained.

He added that the signing of the Memorandum of Understand sought to formalise Curacao’s membership of the CCLEC.

“Therefore, in order to formalise Curacao’s membership of CCLEC, a representative of Curacao is required to sign the signatory page of the CCLEC Memorandum of Understanding on behalf of Curacao,” Stuart stated.

Signing the MOU on behalf of Curacao was Assistant Commissioner of Customs of Curacao, Soraya Pols-Strick. (AN)



Source: The Barbados Advocate